Mr Blog... Mr Blog... Log on to Mr Blog... Blogging website.

"The blog is named in honor of a TV ad jingle for a certain Chinese fast-food chain here in the San Francisco Bay area, particularly well-known in the Silicon Valley."
RSS Subscribe to RSS

BEWARE: twittercut is a password stealing SCAM!

A quick search on twitter will show this site is bogus: http://search.twitter.com/search?q=twittercut

DO NOT sign up there (or even visit the site).  If you did sign up, change your Twitter password asap.

Here’s what the home page to the site says:

Welcome to TwitterCut.com.

TwitterCut.com is the best place for you to grow your twitter network and gain a ton of followers. We recommend giving it a shot, it’s free and will help you get the followers you need. This system is brand new, so the quicker you get involved the better it will be, fill out the form below and get started right away…

It looks like they stole some Twitter graphics there. I note that the Home, About etc. links are all no-ops.

The WHOIS record, gives the following:

Registrant:
Jordan EMbry
1646 thompson drive
owensboro, Kentucky 42302
United States

Domain Name: TWITTERCUT.COM
Created on: 21-May-09
Expires on: 21-May-10
Last Updated on: 21-May-09

Administrative Contact:
EMbry, Jordan  jembry13@gmail.com

I have not found a white pages listing for an Embry at the above address.  The domain is registered with GODADDY.COM, INC.

May or may not be the same person as:


Posted on : May 26 2009
Tags: , , ,
Posted under twitter |

When nerds become terrorists

One of the IPs of a server I manage in a data center has been caught up in an Outblaze /24 RBL. Outblaze admits that the spam is really from a different IP range than ours:

That’s a spammer to whom your provider has given multiple (several dozen) /27 and /26 sized blocks spread across their IP space

Our IP addresses are not in these spammer ranges, but Outblaze threw our (innocent of spamming) IPs into their block anyway. This is a typical supposed good-guy anti-spammer tactic; it is effectively a form of terrorism. They want us to do their bidding for them. They have unilaterally declared some IP as a spammer and now they want us (without any direct evidence that they are spammers – only the hearsay evidence from Outblaze) to report them to our data center provider, which we of course have to do. Outblaze wants us to take their word for it that these are bad guys, the same way the COPS TV show does.

Please ask [data center provider] to kick this spammer off their networks, and I will lift the block on this (and other) /24s that high spam volumes from the above spammer have caused.

All these RBL sites are bogus – I’m against spam, but these sites do more harm than good. They are vigilante organizations run by fascists – it’s their way or the highway – and they are practicing a form of restraint of trade. These are kids that got beat up on the playground and now they are getting back. It’s kind of silly. If a spamming sites gets on the RBL, no big deal — it’s in their operating plan – they just move on. But if a good guy gets on their RBL, they are screwed – there is no third party checking these guys and no court of appeal.


Posted on : Apr 29 2008
Tags:
Posted under Uncategorized |
PhoneGnome
FREE calling
VoIP for the rest of us!